June 21, 2024

Game Ape Blog

Hot News of the Week in the Philippine

Home » PBA » Barangay Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar, Scottie Thompson lead fan votes for 2024 PBA All-Star game in Bacolod

Barangay Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar, Scottie Thompson lead fan votes for 2024 PBA All-Star game in Bacolod

3 min read

The Barangay Ginebra tandem of Japeth Aguilar and Scottie Thompson continues to reign supreme, emerging as the top vote-getters in the initial fan balloting for the highly anticipated 2024 PBA All-Star game set to unfold in Bacolod.

Aguilar, the towering forward, seized the spotlight by securing the most votes among fans, amassing an impressive total of 24,372 votes since the balloting process commenced on December 3.
Not far behind, the dynamic guard Scottie Thompson claimed the second spot with a formidable 17,328 votes. This dynamic duo had previously dominated the All-Star game in Passi City, Iloilo, where Aguilar’s Team Japeth triumphed over Thompson’s Team Scottie in a thrilling encounter, 140-136.

The Barangay Ginebra influence extended beyond Aguilar and Thompson, with three more players from the squad finding themselves in the Top 5 of the fan votes.
Christian Standhardinger secured the third position with 15,400 votes, while the veteran LA Tenorio and the electrifying Jamie Malonzo rounded out the Top 5 with 15,390 and 15,014 votes, respectively.

Breaking the Ginebra dominance, San Miguel’s legendary seven-time MVP, June Mar Fajardo, managed to secure the sixth spot with 14,912 votes. However, he found himself flanked by two more Barangay Ginebra players, Maverick Ahanmisi (13,654) and Stanley Pringle (13,216), showcasing the overwhelming fan support for the reigning champions.

The Top 10 list was completed by San Miguel’s CJ Perez (11,432) and Northport’s Arvin Tolentino (11,092), highlighting the diverse talent pool in the league.

A total of 24 players will be chosen through fan selection, while the remaining members will be decided by media votes, and two coaches selected to helm the All-Star squads.

The early vote for coaches reflected a pattern similar to the previous year, with Tim Cone of Barangay Ginebra leading the list with 28,110 votes, followed by Yeng Guiao of Rain or Shine with 11,494.

In the Rookies/Sophomores/Juniors side event, the Gilas Pilipinas duo of Jamie Malonzo (16,638) and TNT’s Calvin Oftana (13,234) emerged as the top choices among fans. The talent-packed list also featured notable names such as Jeremiah Gray, Justin Arana, Tyler Tio, Calvin Abueva, Eric Camson, Chris Newsome, and many others.

As the All-Star festivities approach, the PBA landscape is set for a showcase of the league’s finest talents, with fan favorites leading the charge for an exhilarating celebration of basketball prowess in Bacolod.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *